Coming on the heels of a recent NATO report that Russia is again massing troops near its border with Ukraine, the Office of Foreign Asset Control, part of the United States Treasury Department, announced the following new additions to the Specially Designated National List under its Ukraine-Related Sanctions Program:

  • Valery Bolotov;
  • Igor Vsevolodovich Girkin;
  • Valery Vladimirovich Kaurov;
  • Sergei Ivanovich Menyailo;
  • Vyacheslav Ponomaryov;
  • Andrey Yevgenyevich Purgin; and
  • Denis Pushilin.

Valery Bolotov is the self-proclaimed People’s Governor of the breakaway Lugansk People’s Republic in eastern Ukraine.  Igor Vsevolodovich Girkin is a Russian national and commander of the Donbass People’s Militia, a pro-Russia paramilitary group that has declared allegiance to the self-proclaimed Donetsk People’s Republic in eastern Ukraine.  Valery Vladimirovich Kaurov is a Russian-based Ukrainian separatist.  Sergei Ivanovich Menyailo has been appointed by Russian President Vladimir Putin as the acting Governor of the Ukrainian annexed city of Sevastopol and is the former Russian Black Sea Fleet Assistant Commander.  Vyacheslav Ponomaryov is the self-proclaimed mayor of the city of Sloviansk in Donetsk Oblast, a region in eastern Ukraine.  Andrey Yevgenyevich Purgin is a leader of the self-proclaimed Donetsk People’s Republic.  Denis Pushilin is the self-declared Chairman of the Supreme Soviet of the Donetsk People’s Republic.

Insurers should make sure to add these individuals and their aliases to their interdiction software databases to properly screen for any payments to or from these individuals or any entities they own or control.